Edit: Error

Fear of making an error on your project preventing you from making any progression? Me too.

·

2 min read

Hello, I'm Sylvia. I am a software developer who created this blog as a way to document my journey and share with others what I have learned.

I came up with this idea when I was working on my portfolio. I found myself feeling stuck. Not because I was unsure of what I should be doing. I felt stuck because I was scared. I felt scared to fix an error. I felt scared that I was going to cause more errors and ruin the whole project. I just sat there, staring at my code. It was as if I was staring at the clouds. Tags began to look foreign, I forgot my semi-colons, and the design seemed wrong.

20211018_172811.jpg

Suddenly, I was overwhelmed. Thinking to myself, "You should know more by now." Words like failure, loser, disappointment began to trinkle by as I became too scared to do anything. My project wasn't my project anymore and I almost cried. I want to share these embarrassing moments in hopes that someone else reads this and know they are not alone in this.

I didn't fix my problem. I let my fear of creating a bigger mess prevent me from actually fixing the issues. Even though I eventually got one problem fixed, it was like I planted a weed. Error sprung up from my design like wild dandelions. My fear came true. Me, fixing my mistake made more. It still sucks. Coding, studying, and practicing, and still feel like you did that first day. Clueless.

inCollage_20190924_135351400.jpg

That's the thing, though. I keep forgetting that I'm still learning, and I don't know everything. You have to fail to learn. You have to do something. Otherwise, what are you doing? I have to fight for myself, and if that causes more errors, so be it. Take that risk because the reward is worth it. You are worth fighting for. Eventually, I will figure it out. And you will too. Next time, when there is an error, charge after it like a ram and tackle it down. Who cares if there are more errors or if nothing happens?

20191002_184734.jpg We got this. Juniors, seniors, and all software developers out there in this field. And remember, if you feel like giving up, reach out to your community. We got you.